Reviews ( 8 )

  • No reason to look elsewhere

    4.0 reviewed Sep 5 2014, 14:52 BST
    • 4.0 Pricing
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Value
      80% from total
    • 5.0 Range of Tradable Instruments
      100% from total
    • 4.0 Reliability
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Customer Service
      80% from total
    • 5.0 Value Added Features
      100% from total

    I have been using iG's spread betting platform for about two years and am very satisfied with the experience. I was originally attracted to sign up for an account with IG as they offered the reassurance of dealing with the UK market leader. Their spreads also seemed competitive, they had a very wide choice of markets and the margin requirements were comparatively low. I have found their trading platform very stable without any downtime, which was a particular problem that I encountered when trading with another large spread betting company. The platform is easy to use once you get the hang of it and offers lots of useful tools and services. The charting package is pretty decent although occasionally I find it a bit slow to load. Customer service is good and I find the live chat facility very useful. I have yet to encounter any significant problems with IG, so in short I have no reason to look elsewhere.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    8
  • Fun yes, investing no

    4.0 reviewed Oct 22 2014, 09:15 BST
    • 5.0 Range of Tradable Instruments
      100% from total
    • 4.0 Platform Usability
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Reliability
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Customer Service
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Payouts Percentage
      80% from total

    Generally I am a spread better but decided to give the IG sprint markets, which are basically binary options, a go. Nice platform as all of IG's and easy to get into and try, especially since I already had a an account. Binary is basically like sports betting but on the financial markets. It's fun but approach it as you would a bet on the football. If you win, great, if you lose your loss was the price for some fun. I go over to the sprint markets and place a few positions from time to time just for some variety.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    1
  • One of the best CFD brokers in the UK

    5.0 reviewed Dec 11 2014, 10:49 GMT
    • 4.0 Pricing
      80% from total
    • 5.0 Value
      100% from total
    • 5.0 Range of Tradable Instruments
      100% from total
    • 5.0 Reliability
      100% from total
    • 4.0 Customer Service
      80% from total
    • 5.0 Value Added Features
      100% from total

    The signup process with IG is a bit of a pain. However the quality of service is great. There are different kind of tools which I am using - client sentiment data, professional analysis, video updates, good mobile app. The flexible pricing structure is great for me as an experienced trader. If you are into trading you can't afford to not try these guys.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    0
  • Good signup incentive

    4.0 reviewed Dec 11 2014, 12:41 GMT
    • 4.0 Pricing
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Value
      80% from total
    • 5.0 Platform Usability
      100% from total
    • 4.0 Customer Service
      80% from total
    • 5.0 Range of Markets/Products
      100% from total

    I've been using IG stock brokerage service for about a month already. The platform is nice and flexible. Can't really say much about pricing because I've been using their 30 days commission free offer. Looks legit. If the service is as good as their CFD and Spread betting it is a good option for share dealing.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    0
  • Good for trading on the grey markets before IPOs

    5.0 reviewed Dec 11 2014, 13:51 GMT
    • 4.0 Pricing
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Value
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Range of Tradable Instruments
      80% from total
    • 5.0 Reliability
      100% from total
    • 4.0 Customer Service
      80% from total
    • 3.0 Value Added Features
      60% from total

    IG index offer a good service in general. I'm not a serious trader but found my way to trading because of my interest in tech companies. Can't be bothered to apply on time for different tech IPOs and found that trading on the grey markets is really what i needed. I can still make money from the IPO as long as I can open a position before the IPO kicks in. Couldn't find such a service anywhere else in the UK.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    1
  • The best spread betting provider in the UK

    5.0 reviewed Dec 16 2014, 10:54 GMT
    • 4.0 Pricing
      80% from total
    • 4.0 Value
      80% from total
    • 5.0 Range of Tradable Instruments
      100% from total
    • 5.0 Reliability
      100% from total
    • 5.0 Customer Service
      100% from total
    • 5.0 Value Added Features
      100% from total

    I trade with a few different brokers. I signed up with IG a few months ago. Great experience so far. Tight spreads, client sentiment data, analysis, amazing customer service with their dealing desk. Grey markets are really interesting. Haven't made money out of it yet but waiting for the upcoming IPOs.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    1
  • Epic Slippage

    2.0 reviewed Jan 18 2015, 23:17 GMT
    • 1.0 Pricing
      20% from total
    • 1.0 Value
      20% from total
    • 4.0 Range of Tradable Instruments
      80% from total
    • 1.0 Reliability
      20% from total
    • 2.0 Customer Service
      40% from total

    The problem with the quoted minimum spreads is that they are just that, minimum spreads, and you will rarely if ever actually get them. I used IG in the past but left due to what I considered manipulation of the spreads but decided to come back and give them another chance now I am more experienced. The actual platform is very good and DFBs almost resemble DMA. For example, a EUR gap opened for a quick 11 points but IG ignored it. For around half an hour IG was quoting 10 points of the actual price and the spread was fluctuating a lot. It wasn’t a peak time so maybe they thought they could get away with being so blatant. I like their chart trading through ProRealTime but the slippage is epic. And these are small bets I don’t believe go through the underlying markets. Their customer service representative admitted that some quotes are taken in-house. The overall score may seem harsh given that there are no complaints about the quality of the actual platform but at the end of the day the most important factor is whether or not a trader can trust their broker and I don’t feel that way with IG.

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    0
  • Is this a good broker

    3.0 reviewed Feb 25 2016, 08:02 GMT
    • 3.0 Pricing
      60% from total
    • 3.0 Value
      60% from total
    • 3.0 Range of Tradable Instruments
      60% from total
    • 3.0 Reliability
      60% from total
    • 3.0 Customer Service
      60% from total
    • 3.0 Value Added Features
      60% from total

    Looking for opinions about this broker?Thank you!

    Was this review helpful?
    Yes
    0
Send Feedback
0 Brokers added for comparison:
Clear all