Bid-Ask

Définition rapide

Copy link to section
Par:
Modifié: Jan 20, 2023

L’offre et la demande font référence au prix le plus élevé et le plus bas qu’un titre peut être vendu ou acheté à un moment donné.

Détails clés

Copy link to section
  • Le terme bid fait référence au prix le plus élevé qu’un acheteur paiera pour acheter un titre.
  • Le terme ask fait référence au prix le plus bas qu’un vendeur acceptera de vendre un titre.
  • Le prix demandé est toujours un peu plus élevé que le prix acheteur et la différence entre les deux est connue sous le nom de spread bid-ask.

Quelles sont les Bid-Ask ?

Copy link to section

Les termes « bid » et « ask» représentent une cotation du meilleur prix possible auquel un titre financier peut être acheté ou vendu. Il est important de comprendre ce que sont l’offre et la demande et comment elles fonctionnent, en particulier pour les traders boursiers, et elles sont souvent négligées. Une explication de l’enchère et de la demande peut être trouvée dans l’exemple ci-dessous.

La société XYZ a un devis de 50 € / 55 €. Si un investisseur souhaite acheter des actions de la société, il paiera le prix demandé, qui est actuellement de 55 €. Si un investisseur souhaite vendre ses actions, il recevrait le prix de l’offre, qui est actuellement de 50 €.

Les cours acheteur et vendeur changent tout au long de la journée de négociation et peuvent représenter la demande. Si un titre particulier est en forte demande, la cotation bid-ask augmentera. S’il y a une faible demande pour un titre, le cours bid-ask chutera.

Le prix du bid

Copy link to section

Le cours bid est le prix qu’un investisseur est prêt à payer pour un titre. Le prix du bid est important pour les vendeurs. Si un investisseur souhaite vendre ses actions, il devra examiner le prix du ask pour déterminer le prix auquel il peut vendre.

Le prix du ask

Copy link to section

Le prix demandé est le prix auquel un investisseur est prêt à vendre un titre et c’est important pour les acheteurs. Si un investisseur souhaite acheter une action, il devra regarder le prix du ask pour déterminer combien cela lui coûtera.

Le spread bid-ask

Copy link to section

La différence entre le cours bid et le cours ask est connue sous le nom de spread. Il s’agit d’un coût que tous les investisseurs et traders rencontrent lors d’une transaction. Le spread bid-ask est parfois appelé « commission » facturée par le teneur de marché. Les traders à court terme ont tendance à privilégier les titres à faible spread, tandis que les investisseurs à long terme peuvent ne pas être trop préoccupés par le spread.

Le spread bid-ask n’est pas un montant fixe et changera souvent tout au long d’une séance de trading. Un marché très liquide aura un spread bid-ask plus faible, tandis qu’un marché illiquide aura un spread plus grand. De manière générale, plus un titre est grand ou plus tradé, plus le spread bid-ask sera faible.

Où puis-je en savoir plus ?

Copy link to section

Pour plus d’informations sur les bid-ask et sur d’autres concepts financiers clés, consultez nos cours. Pour en savoir plus sur l’investissement, nos cours utiles vous expliqueront tout ce que vous devez savoir.



Sources et références
Avertissement de risque
Prash Raval
Financial Writer

Prash est un rédacteur financier pour Invezz couvrant le FX, le marché boursier et l’investissement. Pendant plus d’une décennie, il a négocié des devises au comptant... lire la suite.

Bid and ask

Quick definition

Bid and ask refer to the highest and lowest price a security can be sold or bought at any given time.  

Key details

  • The term bid refers to the highest price a buyer will pay to buy a security. 
  • The term ask refers to the lowest price a seller will accept to sell a security. 
  • The ask price is always a little higher than the bid price and the difference between the two is known as the bid-ask spread. 

What are the bid and ask?

The terms ‘bid’ and ‘ask’ represent a price quotation of the best possible price at which a financial security can be bought or sold. It’s important to understand what the bid and ask are and how they work, particularly for stock market traders, and they are often overlooked. An explanation of bid and ask can be found in the example below. 

CompanyXYZ has a price quotation of £50 / £55. If an investor wants to buy shares in the company they would pay the ask price, which is currently £55. If an investor wants to sell their shares, they would receive the bid price, which is currently £50. 

Bid and ask prices change throughout the trading day and can represent demand. If a particular stock is in high demand, then the bid ask quotation will rise. If there is low demand for a security, the bid ask quote will fall. 

The bid price

The bid price is how much an investor is willing to pay for a security. The bid price is important for sellers. If an investor wants to sell their stock, they will have to look at the bid price to determine how much they can sell for. 

The ask price

The ask price is how much an investor is willing to sell a security for and is important for buyers. If an investor is wanting to buy a stock, they will have to look at the ask price to determine how much it will cost them. 

The bid-ask spread

The difference between the bid and ask price is known as the spread. This is a cost that all investors and traders encounter while transacting. The bid-ask spread is sometimes referred to as a ‘fee’ charged by the market maker. Short-term traders tend to favour securities with low spread, while long term investors may not be too concerned with spread.  

The bid-ask spread is not a fixed amount and will often change throughout a trading session. A highly liquid market will have a closer bid-ask spread, while an illiquid market will have a wider spread. Generally speaking, the larger, or more traded a security, the lower the bid-ask spread will be.

Where can I learn more?

For more information about bid and ask, and other key financial concepts, check out our courses. To learn more about investing, our helpful courses will take you through everything you need to know.


Fact-checking & references

Our editors fact-check all content to ensure compliance with our strict editorial policy. The information in this article is supported by the following reliable sources.

Risk disclaimer

Invezz is a place where people can find reliable, unbiased information about finance, trading, and investing – but we do not offer financial advice and users should always carry out their own research. The assets covered on this website, including stocks, cryptocurrencies, and commodities can be highly volatile and new investors often lose money. Success in the financial markets is not guaranteed, and users should never invest more than they can afford to lose. You should consider your own personal circumstances and take the time to explore all your options before making any investment. Read our risk disclaimer >

Prash Raval
Financial Writer
When not researching stocks or trading, Prash can be found either on the golf course, walking his dog or teaching his son how to kick a… read more.