Development areas

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

Regions within a country which attract government assistance because of their persistent high levels of unemployment relative to the rest of the country.

There are three categories – Special Development Area, Development Area and Intermediate Area. The forms of assistance include cash grants for investment, favourable tax allowances, training allowances, removal expenses and factories constructed by the government and leased on favourable terms

Reference: The Penguin Dictionary of Economics, 3rd edt.

Sources & references
Risk disclaimer
James Knight
Editor of Education
James is the Editor of Education for Invezz, where he covers topics from across the financial world, from the stock market, to cryptocurrency, to macroeconomic markets.... read more.