Economic Community of West African States (E.C.O.W.A.S.)

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

The sixteen members of E.C.O.W.A.S. agreed on the basis of the Treaty of Lagos in 1975 to develop a customs union, and in 1981, at Freetown, Sierra Leone, concluded a plan for the elimination of trade restrictions within the Community by 1989.

Reference: The Penguin Dictionary of Economics, 3rd edt.

Sources & references
Risk disclaimer
James Knight
Editor of Education
James is the Editor of Education for Invezz, where he covers topics from across the financial world, from the stock market, to cryptocurrency, to macroeconomic markets.... read more.