Socio-economic class (NS-SEC)

Updated: Aug 20, 2021

The UK National Statistics classification that groups together people with similar social and economic status. The version used for most analyses has 8 classes with the first one subdivided. These classes are as follows: 1 Higher managerial and professional occupations: 1.1 Large employers and higher managerial occupations; 1.2 Higher professional occupations; 2 Lower managerial and professional occupations; 3 Intermediate occupations; 4 Small employers and own account workers; 5 Lower supervisory and technical occupations; 6 Semi-routine occupations; 7 Routine occupations; 8 Never worked and long-term unemployed; and Not classified. This classification replaces the previously used classification of socio-economic groups (NS-SEG), along with the classification of social class (NS-SC).

Reference: Oxford Press Dictonary of Economics, 5th edt.

Sources & references
Risk disclaimer

Invezz is a place where people can find reliable, unbiased information about finance, trading, and investing – but we do not offer financial advice and users should always carry out their own research. The assets covered on this website, including stocks, cryptocurrencies, and commodities can be highly volatile and new investors often lose money. Success in the financial markets is not guaranteed, and users should never invest more than they can afford to lose. You should consider your own personal circumstances and take the time to explore all your options before making any investment. Read our risk disclaimer >

James Knight
Editor of Education
James is a lead content editor for Invezz. He's an avid trader and golfer, who spends an inordinate amount of time watching Leicester City and the… read more.